Ready or Not…..

I’m leaving for the airport to fly to Haiti in t minus one hour.

I’ve spent the last two weeks, the last year, hurtling towards this moment. I’m still waiting for it to seem real…..Aaaany minute now…..

Speaking of the last two weeks…..

Just sub the lab coat for scrubs and the erlenmeyer flask for a laryngoscope, and yeah, that’s been me, in the upper right corner.

I finished my Anesthesia rotation today…….

with one last (thankfully, smooth like ex-lax) intubation. All I have to say is, it was interesting, I got to work with some great people and it was fantastic to wear scrubs for two weeks straight. But, it was utterly apparent to everyone involved by the second day I was working at the working on the wrong end of the patient, and as an unrepentant, incurable night owl I had to get up way the h*ll too early every morning (see PHD comic). I’m glad it’s over.

I also got to go to one of the best concerts I’ve seen in years this week, a surreal, sleep-depriving, surreptitious experience squeezed in between shifts.

It was a four hour drive to and from the show so I got a whole three hours of sleep before I went back for more tube jockeying hijinks. Totally. Worth it.

Blitzen Trapper, you rock my world.

I also got my grades for third year yesterday, finally. Given the rollercoaster ride that was last year, the completely subjective nature of the grading process at our program, I had no idea what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised.

Apparently, I get to stay and play for another round, starting with a month of Adventures in Third World Medicine.

Ready or not, here I go……

