State Fair.

On a lighter note, I did take some of the free time I’ve had over the past few weekends off to go hunting for pictures.

I was driving to work one morning and heard an ad for the local county fair. I usually compulsively flip past ads to get to the good stuff on the radio, the music, but I had to stop when I heard this one.

Growing up, I loved a few things, animals, learning, the promise of the future and the adventures I’d have, and retro movies including everything Rodgers and Hammerstein. One of my favorites was State Fair, and one of my favorite things to do as a child was go to the fair, and the few times I got to participate as an exhibitor growing and showing animals for 4-H.

As I listened to the ad, it all came flooding back.

And, as luck would have it, the last days of the fair coincided with one of my weekends off. So I roused myself early and coffee, camera, and extra batteries in hand went to immerse myself in it, and the memories of fairs past, to try to capture some of it.

It was a perfect fair, with all the sights and smells I remembered and loved. I wandered only briefly, making my way quickly to my favorite parts, the exhibition barns. I went through them all, sometimes twice, snapping away. And then I wandered some more sniffing up the delicious smells of the fried foods I couldn’t afford to actually buy and eat (which is a very good thing, given my complete abandonment of any sort of exercise and subtly but undeniably expanding self at this point!), and observing the people also in attendance, also enjoying the sights and and smells of the fair, wandering, watching, snapping photos, eating, riding, and shopping.

These are the best of the pictures I got, and I have to say that while I think they do capture some parts and joys of the fair, they leave a large and important part out. Namely the people, as I regrettably continue to be too shy to snap away at random people or to ask to.

I need to work on that, but in the meantime, here is what I did get……..

Police horse.

Police horse.

 

The requisite carousel.

The requisite carousel.

 

049

 

Prize peppers.

Prize peppers.

 

Priceless collection.

Priceless collection.

 

Instant princess.

Instant princess.

 

Beautiful bunny.

Beautiful bunny.

 

Cock of the walk.

Cock of the walk.

 

Precious piggies.

Precious piggies.

 

254

 

Mr. Ed.

Mr. Ed.

 

Hero of the Herpetology Society.

Hero of the Herpetology Society.

 

313

 

331

 

340

 

Monster truck.

Monster truck.

 

Corns dogs mmmm.......

Corns dogs mmmm…….

 

Sweet corn, fresh from the farm.

Sweet corn, fresh from the farm.

 

(Note: I thought of this while I was getting pictures, and now while I’m writing. I just have to add a disclaimer of sorts, with all the animal pictures that I’ve posted, that I definitely do not condone any cruelty to animals or intend to with the pictures. I love animals and wish that I could be a vegetarian because I do, and have tried several times, but sparing details, seem to physically unable to. So I personally don’t judge people either way. And, all of the animals I took pictures of were by all appearances very well cared for, and I thought an integral part of the experience I was attempting to capture. Just saying!)

3 thoughts on “State Fair.

  1. Ooh. Lovin the carousel and corn dog pics, though the glass does marr the effect slightly on the latter. Still lovin it, though.

    And thanks for your current high output. Keep it up, eh?

    • I think, I may have subconsciously chosen that particular corn dog pic as the effect of the glass reflected (Ha ha), the whole ‘look but don’t eat!’ thing I had going on with the fair food.

      Thank you for the comment, and for reading Marcus! I sincerely hope to keep up the current output pace, thanks again for the encouragement. 🙂

      • ^^ Ah… You wouldn´t mind showing what it looks like uncropped? (I take it you cropped it)

Comments are closed.