Imagine.

I was saving up a link to share today, and as I went through the day, clinic, staying late to work on research, etc, I kept adding on to my list of more Things To Share.

So here they are:

#1.10 things you need to give up to become a doctor.

 

DocEatDoc2

 

One of my friends sent me a link to this article. Of course I don’t agree 100% with everything in the article (The creativity point, obviously. And the bit about changing the world, it might not be happening as quickly as I’d like, but it will happen. Oh, it will happen.), but they do offer some excellent food for thought.

I’ve gotten some comments and emails about getting into medicine, especially going from nurse to MD, and I see a lot of people find the blog with search terms in this vein. I’ve given some advice on technicalities of going from RN to MD, but I also (in hindsight) think it’s important for people to consider the implications that the choice to be an MD will have for their lives as well – which is a lot of the stuff in this article (especially as a non-trad when giving up the majority of your free time, sleep, financial security/money, and family time might be more difficult – because it is very true that that you will be sacrificing all of these things – especially if you are a compulsive perfectionist like moi and want to get good grades, get into the specialty of your choice, and ultimately do well taking care of real live human beings in residency/as an MD).

I would say (again, in hindsight) that the one thing I would make a concerted effort to firm up before taking the MD plunge as a non-trad, in terms of Other Life Stuff, would be the whole significant other business if you are at all interested in firming that sort of thing up, and are a hopelessly awkward-outside-of-work introvert. Because, good luck trying to do it afterwards. (Note: But if you are like most of the population, and not utterly handicapped at meeting new people who are not your patients and/or not in a specialty where you are completely surrounded at all times by people of the opposite gender from those which you like to make a significant other of, like most of the other medical peeps I’ve observed around me – Introverts = Good at observing, baaaaaad at interacting – feel free to disregard, you’ll be fine.)

I’m not posting the link to be a big, scary, downer.

I’m just saying, think about it. Hard.

Because one thing I do completely agree with in the post, is that medicine is not just a job, it’s a way life. And this quote (from Spider-Man, I know, in my defense I have never professed to be anything but a massive nerd-geek), has resonated many times over the last six-ish years:

With great power, comes great responsibility.

And then, when you decide that you want, and are ready to take on that responsibility and everything that goes along with it (the awesome, and the-not-so-awesome), go ahead, and send that app. As much as I might complain, knowing my own ridiculously single-minded and stubborn tendencies, I am 99.9% sure that I wouldn’t have done a d*mn thing differently. Not to mention, I am also completely, still makes my heart skip a beat, would (again, obviously) go through or do pretty much anything for it, in love with my job. (Not to mention, there’s no going back for me now, so it’s a pointless waste of time to wonder. And I have more important things to do like study, do research, work, sleep, complain, and keep up with this blog!)

 

 

#2. The Worse Things Get, The Harder I Fight, The Harder I Fight, The More I Love You.

 

Neko

Neko’s new album is streaming for free on NPR. And speaking of my love affair with medicine, the title says it all.

 

 

#3. #the world needs more

 

WHD

 

I said love. There can never be enough love.

When I said love, I thought of The Beatles and All You Need Is Love.

But I think this song says it better………

 

 

Imagine, be a dreamer, send that app, start or continue your own love affair, and change the world. Because even if it’s a small change, a small piece of the world, you will, and it will be worth it.

